Fast and Female

Marie Claire flying high

 

ClaireClaire

  Marie-Claire Henry racing classic style in Walden 2013 Ontario Cup

Hey Peter,

 
Sorry This took so long!
 
My name is Marie-Claire and I'm 18 years old. I'm currently living in Kingston Ontario where I'm going to school for Kinesiology. I started skiing in the Jackrabbit program in the bunny level when I was about 4 or 5,  and I've been racing since grade 5 with bother the club team and then with the highschool team starting in grade 9. I've been skiing and racing ever since. I love both skate and classic, but on a cold day with a lot of snow, nothing beats classic skiing in a perfect track set! What got me interested in competition was how fun a weekend of racing was, but my favorite part about a competition is the feeling you get when you cross the finish line.  As much fun as racing is though, it does take up a lot of time that could otherwise be spent on things like school work. It just meant that I brought homework with me to do at the hotel, and there were a few late nights to finish projects on time because I'd been away for a few days skiing. Time management was something I had to work on a lot. I've been training all fall and this season I'm hoping to ski for the Queen's University ski team and compete at Easterns and OUA's. After that, I plan on skiing for the rest of my life with a few races thrown in here and there just for fun. 
 
 
It was great to ski with the team a bit over Christmas, and good luck to everyone in Duntroon!